Easy “Rich man’s” Latkes recipe

20111222-032709.jpg

This is the story of my first time making latkes ever. I was visiting my girlfriend for the first night of Hanukkah and her mom gave me the chance to try my hand at making the latkes. This is partially because I enjoy trying new recipes and experimenting in the kitchen and partially because her mom is not a fan of cooking. Now this is far from an authentic Jewish bubbie experience but I did my best to replicate it.

The simple recipe I followed was called the “Rich man’s” latke because it did not involve any breadcrumbs or flour to stretch the batter. I’ll have to experiment again to see what kind of a difference something like that might make. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients: Makes enough for about five people to fill up

  • 6 eggs
  • 9 large skinned potatoes
  • 1 half onion
  • Oil for frying (I found canola or vegetable oil did a better job than olive)
  • Salt/pepper

Instructions:

  1. Skin potatoes and cut each into six cubes.
  2. In a food processor, buzz the potatoes until a rough texture is reached. You can also shred the potatoes by hand but this was a little bit faster.
  3. Place chopped potatoes in a strainer and rinse to remove excess starch. Drain as best you can.
  4. In a food processor, mince the half onion and combine with eggs.
  5. This is the fun (messy) part; combine eggs and potatoes in a large bowl and mix together with your hands. Season with salt and pepper.
  6. Heat oil in a large skillet to cover about 1/4 of an inch. The temperature will be hot enough when you can put a dab of mix in and it instantly bubbles.
  7. Using a large slotted spoon, make uniform scoops of mix and drain as much liquid off as you can before adding to oil. Flatten slightly to make sure it is all approximately the same thickness to ensure even cooking.
  8. When golden brown on the bottom, flip and continue to cook until entire latke is a nice golden brown.
  9. Drain oil on a paper towel and enjoy! Recommended condiments: sour cream, apple sauce and sugar.
20111222-032649.jpg

This is the exciting part

There you have it! Very simple. Very tasty. Of course most of the reviews I had were that they didn’t match up to the famous bubbie latkes, but then again I never expected to. I can’t compete with the taste of nostalgia.

20111226-023509.jpg

My first latkes ever

3 comments on “Easy “Rich man’s” Latkes recipe

  1. S.P. says:

    I can’t wait to try this recipe at home! I’m salivating even thinking about it!

  2. Céline R says:

    OMG this looks so good! I might try to veganize this cool recipe 🙂

    • Jon Chan says:

      The eggs are the binder of the potatoes, but I actually just googled and there’s a whole bunch of other things you could add. Like cornstarch, soy milk powder, or flax seed etc.

      Give it a shot and let me know!

Leave a Reply

